jump to navigation

It started to feel like our time began again September 9, 2016

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

“Don’t try me. That last good nerve is gone,”

She glared like I was an unrepentant child.

I lit a cigarette thinking what else could go wrong?

A day was beginning and it was going wild.

Years before we would sit on a park bench

Arm wrestle over religion and politics casually.

Now anger has trumped common sense

And we’ll be another statistic, a marital casualty.

Puffing out smoke rings I couldn’t help but smile,

And she flared, “So you think this is funny, boy?”

I replied, “You know I’m with you, I’ll go the next mile.”

She was skeptical like me agreeing was a ploy.

Putting out the cigarette on the bottom of my shoe

I lifted my hands in mock surrender hoping for a break.

She tilted her head like “what are we supposed to do?”

“Breakfast!” I call, “We need to eat, for Pete’s sake!”

Tension broke and I heard a taxi honk behind us.

She gave a begrudging smile and I held out my hand.

I was about to open the door when I saw the 151 Sheridan bus

And she said, “Let’s grab the bus and ride it down to Grand.”

The cabbie was pissed, but we boarded laughing.

We passed Water Tower and bounced down Michigan.

 She said, “No time for this sacrilegious pouting,”

And it started to feel like our time just began again.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

