jump to navigation

Honey molasses rolls March 30, 2016

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

Baking honey molasses rolls on a fresh spring morning,

I sat with my coffee steaming like the water around Seattle

and heard a robin in mourning

although it could have been a jay making the undergrowth rattle.

I was in no position to investigate as curious as I might be.

My inertia was greater than the will to learn so I let it pass,

and I wondered if the lone robin anxiously clinging to a pine tree

understood its partner’s fate and would learn to let it pass.

Likely, since life goes on for one even if the other is gone

whether by natural causes or foul play or divine intervention.

The robin, the jay, they all nest in their own songs

and there is no guile, no malice, guiding their intentions.

Absently stirring my coffee with a plastic spoon although its black

I listened to the wind, scent of rolls from my retreat

and I see tall pines get taut then after a breeze go slack

but honey molasses rolls are calling me back to sneak a treat.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

