jump to navigation

Vanity press February 19, 2016

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Fiction, Poetry.
trackback

There are stories then there are facts
and sometimes the facts of a story are true
and the fiction is brought in to change names
or alter the truth to fit a slot, usually of time,
so the compactness will draw a crowd.
Write a nine-hundred-page book and it lands
on the discount shelves or worse, if that.
Write a ninety-page book and stock runs out
for the clamoring answer-starved masses
like crack addicts looking for a quick score.
I stopped writing books since I can’t out-guess
the audience or the critics or agents, to be sure.
But I can’t stop writing so here it is, and now
there’s a blessing in the activity even if I have only
the stack of rejection slips to show for the effort.
I should feel bad, disappointed beyond hope,
but I keep at it like an architect possessed, like
Dali at an easel, except results produce no accolades.
I figure I can sell direct to you, no small feat
from what I’ve read in Inc. but I like a
challenge that draws blood to my head and
strikes fear in my soul.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

