jump to navigation

Rosewood and pearl January 27, 2016

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry.
trackback

Rosewood and pearl
steel strings and glue
worn pick guard and black as oil
slick nearly looks midnight blue
just an old guitar, decades old
likes me to raise her to my knee
or hang off my right shoulder
and she’ll sit there patiently
feels the season getting colder
as she silently goes out of tune
when I leave her for a time
but I’ll grab her up in June
and make her feel in her prime
they tell me its like golf
never gets old to swing and walk
I don’t worry for her loft
she likes to sing instead of talk
Rosewood and pearl
steel strings and glue
worn pick guard and black as oil
slick nearly looks midnight blue
just a guitar, decades old

Comments»

1. phoartetry - January 28, 2016

I really like this poem. My guitar sits silence since my last surgery three years ago. My entire neck is fused now, preventing any movement, up, down, and sideways. On occasions, as I walk by I pluck a string,even out of tune, it sounds sweet.

Connie

vsap - January 28, 2016

Thank you! Keep plucking…even out of tune it will always sound sweet. Vince


Leave a Reply

