jump to navigation

He knew what I had planned, well… June 2, 2015

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry.
Tags: , ,
trackback

The cat tells me its cooler in the shade
and I shook my head with a crooked smile
then he hands me a giant pretzel and tall lemonade
and motions me to sit and stay awhile, well…

He pulled the brim of his straw hat down
and I understood, as anyone would understand
then his eyes narrowed and delivered a fake frown
but he was no fool, he knew what I had planned, well…

I asked him where he got the Cubans, his secret stash,
and his shoulders shrugged a little uncomfortably,
“You know,” he said, “Miami, whenever I have the cash,”
I repositioned myself in my plastic chair for stability, well…

I thought he’d fallen asleep when he asked, “When you goin’ brother man?”
Bringing the cigar from my lips I let the smoke out in rings.
“I think I could manage to stay for a favor and a large box fan.”
He started humming his tenor just like an angel sings, well…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

