jump to navigation

Plaster of Paris May 15, 2015

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry.
trackback

My course work in life is a major in deception
and a master’s thesis in doubt, to poor reception
as instructors express their fears, my mentor entreats me
to recall my purpose before the narrative defeats me.

Self-serious, full of ideals I won’t explain
my reason unseasoned laced with nagging pain,
I sugar-coat the diagnosis with romantic notions
causing critics to dump my life’s work in the ocean.

Then I knew not learning to swim was my failing
Gasping for air as my arms were flailing.
Then I looked at it from the other side, like I was wrong
and decided I couldn’t write the lyrics for that song.

If something is missing then my mission is discovery,
even as my mind is reeling from the drugs of recovery.
But I can share with you a secret I keep:
I’m damned to confuse the shallow for the deep.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

