jump to navigation

She is in the moment March 2, 2015

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry.
Tags: ,
trackback

Sitting al fresco at a nondescript bistro
she absently lit a cigarette and smiled broadly at me,
“Stop me if you’ve heard this one before…” she began –
Of course, I had, no less than a hundred times,
maybe more, if I was forced to give an accurate account.
She laughed at herself and proceeded with her story.

I didn’t mind her smoking, her smile and laugh were infectious
and I learned long ago not to chastise her for a bad habit,
Owning too many myself I could hardly take her to task.
Her lips were moving, her smile brightened an otherwise dull day
and I was delighted to be in her presence, to be counted as her friend.
I knew she could be spending time better with higher caliber company.

She chose me on this day of the dozens of friends she could have called on
so it didn’t matter if I had heard the story before.
I marveled at how some people bring joy to your life without trying.
I was awestruck by her singular way of being
and I believe she doesn’t even realize her impact on me.
She is in the moment – forgetting the past and setting aside the future.

“…and then Herschel walked in! Well, you know how I feel about him…”
she continued and I searched my memory for Herschel but came up blank,
she looked around for a moment as if Herschel might be standing nearby
before she smiled and laughed at herself and continued,
cigarette waving like a flag in the early summer breeze,
her hand fluid and nimble like she was commanding a baton.

Our time was, as always, too brief, and she was walking away
but then turned and waved, another signature of her style.
I returned the wave and sat back down at the table
as she faded from view walking like a kid who just feel in love
and she didn’t care who would notice, I did.
I reveled in our time together and allowed my face to soak in the sun
and another beautiful memory.

Comments»

1. kabir gandhiok - March 25, 2015

Brilliant poetry.. it took me there. thanks for sharing! i’m glad to have found your blog 🙂


Leave a Reply

