jump to navigation

The Ticking Clock (only writers will understand) December 6, 2014

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry.
Tags: ,
trackback

The clock on my wall in the room where I write
has an audible “tick” for every second it measures.
I’m terrified and comforted by this ticking
it can propel me forward or it can free me cold
“Tore down a la Rimbaud” as Van Morrison put it
as we measure success by the words on the page
as we curate quality while we press it into commodity
You don’t get paid if the words aren’t laid
and the ticking clock reminds me of my failure
and the ticking clock reminds me of my pursuit
and the ticking clock is an unforgiving master
if that’s how I see it; if that’ how I think it should be.

I’ve considered moving it, silencing the ticking clock.
I’ve wondered if I wouldn’t pick up pen more often
if it wasn’t sitting on the wall daring me, pressing me on.
But each time the battery runs down
and I have in my grasp perfect excuse to put it away forever
I do not – like an old friend I take it in my hands
replace the battery, clean it up and allow it to torture me again!
But, I suppose, it isn’t torture, but urging –
Creating the feeling of “do it now, the time is fleeting” –
do it now, don’t let my ticking drive you insane
make it work for you (beckoning my inner Tony Robbins)
and so it remains the clock on my wall in the room where I write.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

