jump to navigation

RNC: McCain is the man! September 5, 2008

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

There’s a good reason for TiVo and DVR. Like the reason we possess recorded music, certain things need a second hearing to be appreciated. Such was the case for me listening to John McCain’s speech closing the RNC last night. The first go was interrupted by ATVers wanting to make merry up to my property line. So, I went back this morning, without interruption, and actually heard McCain. The results: he demonstrated the stunning differences between he and Barack Obama clearly and strongly. This impressive message, if not delivered with the charisma of Obama, was the gritty truth presented by a genuine man at a moment in the history of his country when they need him the most.

This is no small gesture of solidarity…my initial support was for Mike Huckabee, then Mitt Romney, so McCain had to come out of the back of the pack to get me to believe in him. Choosing Sarah Palin helped but he finally succeeded last night. Here are some quotes and my observations:

“Please don’t be diverted by the ground noise and the static.”

The ground noise and static came from media outlets enamored with reporting about Bristol Palin, Ron Paul and protesters and glossing over what was said, and the record it represents, on this night. It included Obama’s admission that the surge in Iraq worked better than we could have imagined in our wildest dreams, when asked by Bill O’Reilly. If this reminds you of John Kerry’s, “I actually did vote for the $87 billion before I voted against it,” or numerous Clintonian politically expedient statements, then you’re right, and you need to fear for the kind of leader you may be electing if you choose Obama.

“Education — education is the civil rights issue of this century.”

Did anyone really here that? This may have been the most important subject, second only to national security, of the campaign thus far. It would have been good enough to stand for later discussion. But McCain laid out the course for choice for parents and students which must have made DOE insiders and teacher’s union members’ hair on the backs of their necks bristle. Obama’s answer: more of the same.

“I’ve fought the big spenders in both parties, who waste your money on things you neither need nor want, and the first big-spending pork-barrel earmark bill that comes across my desk, I will veto it. I will make them famous, and you will know their names. You will know their names.”

Think about it: isn’t that what the show “America’s Most Wanted” is all about? Making “famous” the bad guys so the average citizen can get involved in apprehending them? McCain will take the names of those men and women who want to load bills with pet projects and bring them to you for you to decide on their fate. Brilliant!

“I hate war. It’s terrible beyond imagination. I’m running for president to keep the country I love safe and prevent other families from risking their loved ones in war as my family has. I will draw on all my experience with the world and its leaders, and all the tools at our disposal — diplomatic, economic, military, and the power of our ideals — to build the foundations for a stable and enduring peace.”

Good and evil do exist. We don’t live in a world of cold, gray middle. Peace is an honorable goal but it can’t be ignored that there are nations and groups of people who are set against peace and they must be dealt with without negotiation or equivocation. Using every element at our disposal is important, but making a decision for action is of even greater importance. That can only be done if there is a recognition of good and evil. Obama sees no such difference.

“I’m not running for president because I think I’m blessed with such personal greatness that history has anointed me to save our country in its hour of need. My country saved me. My country saved me, and I cannot forget it. And I will fight for her for as long as I draw breath, so help me God.”

You have your choice, clearly delineated. Now, what will you decide?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

