jump to navigation

Look At The Other Side May 19, 2008

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry.
trackback

Face down in new dirt, red, loose, granular,

I push myself up and my joints are sore, every one,

and my muscles are weak to quivering.

But I manage to sit up and graze the panorama

looking for another living soul and seeing none.

I could try to get to my feet, but I won’t bother right now,

the cool dirt contrasts with the warm sun and I need both

so I’ll take it in and give my sinuses a chance to catch up.

Searching my pockets for cigarettes, my smelling salt,

I can only imagine what I can’t remember, what I can’t see.

I find them, flick the butane lighter and take that first breath

now I can begin to figure out where I am and how I got here.

I feel for my wallet, and it’s there, so I get some courage

and look inside it and everything is there, fifty bucks,

credit cards, photos, everything is there.

My car is sitting there, off to my left just south of the rising sun

and maybe its covered with dust but it looks okay,

I guess I need to get up and look at the other side.

Had I done that last night, maybe I would be home

instead of here, wherever this is, wherever I am.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

