jump to navigation

Jewish Vegan Cattle Rancher of North Texas April 25, 2008

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

I don’t eat meat so it’s one of God’s little ironies that I am here,

no Synagogue near-by and a hundred thousand acres of roaming cattle.

Actually, I’m Canadian, too, as if the career isn’t confusing enough,

as if Seinfeld, if he knew, wouldn’t generate a brilliant observation of all this.

You’d probably think there aren’t that many Jews in Winnipeg

but you’ve got the Internet now, check it for yourself.

I’d like to say this was some sort of Wit Sec joke, you know,

my Dad being covered for ratting out Meyer Lansky or something.

That’s not it, not even close, and surely not as colorful as all that.

Sure, I’ve got the ten-gallon hat that might make you confuse me

with Toby Kieth or Dwight Yoakum until you see me and realize

my stature and demeanor are closer to Steve Goodman’s,

God rest his soul.

No, Dad bought this spread with money saved working various jobs

then owning a hardware, “dry goods”, store in St. Germaine.

He bought it and ran the ranch, groomed me, as you might expect,

and I took over in 1980.

He lived until 2000, but I didn’t see him much after 1985,

when my Mother died, and he decided life would be better in Hollywood,

that’s Florida, and so he spent most of the year there, harassing

young women, if I had to make a guess, but likely just enjoying

the company of others like him from Brooklyn and Queens.

Although, I have to say, I can’t imagine what an old cattle rancher

could possibly have in common with his city rat cousins.

I suspect he knew more about the Baptist Church than most Baptists,

they were the people he did business with, and I do today, but I just

don’t partake of the barbeque and the B-B-Qs they throw.

Dad did well, to be sure, this land is precious and others have tried

to buy it or get me to lease parts for other purposes but I don’t see it.

Blossom was good enough for him and I certainly know it’s been

a good enough town and area for me. However…

Now and then, I do think I’d like to try a tenderloin or leg of lamb.

What could it hurt?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

