jump to navigation

Up And Down The Street April 22, 2008

Posted by vsap in Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m pullin’ up the covers, time to rest.

I know the judgment’s comin’, I think it for the best.

I’ve looked up and down, up and down the street,

Sandy Koufax is comin’ and he’s bringin’ his heat.

Born wild and ragged, I’d hear folk say,

don’t go near that child, he’s judgment day.

I’ve looked up and down, up and down the street,

time to separate the chaff from the wheat.

Locked up and cloistered like a Benedictine monk,

bailin’ out water ‘fore my ship has done sunk.

I’ve looked up and down, up and down the street,

all I see is history in repeat, repeat, repeat.

Now, I could be home and watchin’ my HD tv,

but no American Idol will set me free.

I’ve looked up and down, up and down the street,

I don’t like the fire so I steer from the heat.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

