jump to navigation

I Feel So Gatsby April 14, 2008

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

Posit for me, if you will, indulge me with your thinking.

Like the 1920s, I feel so Gatsby, just twaddle and drinking.

I hesitate to dive in, but you know, dive I must!

I clamor for the maid to straighten my room, vac and dust.

But, really, what does it mean, unless I’m allergic or something.

So, I’ve gone uptown to take a smoke and look for anything,

I mean, wouldn’t you? Rather than be bored with the whole, you know,

being rich for the sake of your father and squirreling all the dough?

We can leave this and take the car and just drive cross to Albany or Buffalo.

I know it sounds passe but we could take a train to tottlin’ ol’ Chicago.

No sense in waiting for the next world war, it will come with or without us.

Just thank God we don’t have to walk downtown or ride a bus!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

