jump to navigation

Man! March 21, 2008

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

Man! There’s no air in here
And I knew you would say that
it’s not the heat but humidity
Kudzu and pine draw water from your eyes
Throat itches like poison ivy growing in it
Man! I can hardly see
And I knew you would say that
This is not Tucson and it ain’t Boise, either
You can say what you want
But it doesn’t change what it is
Man! My head hurts
And I knew you would say that
Could be noise or fumes or hunger
Maybe bad luck or sad karma
But it’s pollen not your imagination
Man! Get me a doctor
And I knew you would say that
Co-conspirator in seasonal symptoms
Your boutique disease is sacred
Kneeling at the altar of latest cure
Man! I need a vacation
And I knew you would say that
Trite notions of dry, southwesterly breezes
Beaches to be laid upon
Oceans to be bobbing in
Man! I should get back to work
And I knew you would say that
Health measured by breathing alone
Status imbued by peers
That lattice work is cracking
Man! This is hard
And I knew you would say that
Work off your fat
Work out your demons
It’s all about the water
Man! I have to get home
And I knew you would say that
Love’s last con man
Wife and kids are a blur
Girlfriend’s on speed dial

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

