jump to navigation

Closing fast March 19, 2008

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

March is closing fast and I’m losing track

of my dollar coins and brown lunch sack

then I try to dispose of my best procrastination

as if the work I’m doing is meant to save the nation

but it’s my absent brother, a soldier boy serving in Iraq

who keeps me free with his guns and fifty-pounds on his back

and I couldn’t repay him if I tried so I write him some letters

thinking my words might give him hope, make him feel better

but that’s beyond the range of vastly limited talents that I ply

in between benign fiction and mind-numbing boldface lies

then I think of this political season, the price of treason,

and the price we have to pay to sift things through to reason

for the sweat pours without growing tired, with no hope of peace

so I will stand and wait for the bus that will deliver me to my release.

March is closing fast and I’m losing track

of my dollar coins and brown lunch sack

then I try to dispose of my best procrastination

as if the work I’m doing is meant to save the nation.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

