jump to navigation

No Ordinary Girl (4) March 5, 2008

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

An older man struggles in with two cases that look like they are loaded with bricks.

“Thank God it’s late,” he said to no one in particular, though I look up and nod

my head in mock agreement, not knowing why.

He smells as if he just ate at Taco Bell or some cheap Mexican restaurant,

poodle coat recoils, mother and son move a few chairs away, and I get up and go

to the door and step outside for some air. It’s bracing this cold, humid breeze,

and I watch as poodle coat steps lightly on her cigarette, mashing it then briefly

smoldering, she steps away and walks toward the door I had just stepped through.

I think, Rene Russo, in her eyes, maybe, but it could be just the wait wearing on me.

She passes me and says, “How does this happen?”

This is my moment so I offer, “No money for a plane. Too lazy to walk. Too dangerous

to hitch,” and she stopped and turned and smiled broadly this time.

“You know I’m half your age, and you’ve been watching me the whole time,

that’s more sick than how the old man smells, when you think about it.”

Momentarily stung, I bounce back quickly this time, uncharacteristically so,

“I suppose if I were married and had a daughter your age that would make me

just as sick as you think, but since that ain’t the case, I’d say you misjudged me.”

“Maybe,” she offered, still smiling, then walked past me and back into the trailer

meant to be a station, as if she wanted me to follow, and, as I hear the train arriving,

I know I have no choice, I want to get to Dallas, and this is my ticket.

The train brakes squeal to a stop, like they have a long drawn out Southern accent.

I decide to wait for the passengers to get off before I head back through the

depot and on to the train, let poodle coat, taco man and mom and son find their ways

before I will join them, or not, depending on the seats available.

As one older black woman is getting off the train she looks at poodle coat

and exclaims, “Darcy!”

“Nadine!” Darcy gives back and they hug there briefly clogging the main

traffic artery for those trying to get off the train.

They pull to the side and I hear the muffled voice of Nadine ask,

“Where you off to? Where’s Bobby and Momma?” but I couldn’t hear Darcy

so I make my way back through the trailer and over to the other side, there are

people milling and looking for cabs, loved ones, and all that.

I am deliberate as I walk by Nadine and Darcy, trying to pick up whatever

I can before I am forced to get on the train, maybe to never see her again.

“Well, Momma’s better off and I will be soon enough, too. Don’t you worry,”

Darcy said, as Nadine nodded in sad agreement.

“Now, you go on and put things back together for yourself. You need that,”

Nadine said, and the two said their goodbyes as I made my way up and into

the car. “This one to Dallas, so are the ones ahead. the ones behind this leave us

at Texarkana, so just remember,” the conductor warns me, but he is talking

to us all, using me as the conduit for his message.

I take a seat in an unoccupied row and I watch as Darcy gets on, looks my way,

smiles that little wisp of a smile that is gone as quick as it arrives, and turns

and walks into the car up ahead.

I don’t understand much in this crazy world but one thing I know,

she’s no ordinary girl.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

