jump to navigation

Shaded Eyes December 19, 2007

Posted by vsap in Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

I haven’t stopped to look out the window or see with clear eyes the manner of day it is. Headaches are constant, and I raise my head only reluctantly since the light, any light, is too intense for me, too great and overwhelming to endure, and it’s been like this too long.

I ask myself for rest, for a time to disconnect, to rejuvenate, but I must be too old and deaf, I can’t hear the cry, I can’t understand the words, I can’t seem to grasp the significance. But it’s there if I could only see it, if I would only look, if only, if only, if only.

Sleep, maybe if I could sleep my endurance would be redoubled, I’d have the faith of Job and I’d elicit support from family and friends, that now vacant lot strewn with litter and forsaken by others, I could possess them and they would love me in spite of the obvious.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

