jump to navigation

An albatross searching for a neck September 4, 2007

Posted by vsap in Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

There is an albatross circling

like a vulture but not hungry

searching for a neck to burden.

I knew his friends, know his enemies,

and he is unhurried, seeking a certain

quality, not instant gratification.

That is so rare with any bird

but especially with this one for he is

known by who he hangs with.

His nature is second nature to me

and there isn’t one time I don’t tie my shoe

or wink at a horse that I don’t think of him.

It is insipid and uplifting, if you can imagine,

like a TV ad focused on a beautiful girl,

fulfilling and empty simultaneously.

So there is an albatross circling

like an eagle but not hunting

searching for my neck to burden.

As if it were a dream, as if it could be,

I would dance away, shifting and gliding

smoothly from him so his chase would be futile.

Maybe it will be, still, if I just dance faster,

maybe he will grow weary and drift away.

Unlikely, though, since time is on his side,

and fate is in his grasp, and dust is my destiny.

He knows this, like a New York cabbie,

he knows the short cuts and back ways

and he will head me off, I know it.

There is this albatross circling

like a vulture but not hungry

searching for a neck to burden.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

