jump to navigation

Waiting For Dawn September 3, 2007

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

I was waiting for dawn in my typical manner,

stepping from the back door of the house

gazing as the forest was back-lit by the

emerging sunrise, kind of blue, yellow encroaching.

And the trees looked like a silhouette painting

black and casting themselves skyward like so

many fingers raising themselves to answer

that can’t be asked, can’t be answered.

I didn’t shut the door entirely so I could

hear the coffeemaker calling as it responded

to its automatic setting and started to fill

the air with the aroma that beckons breakfast.

But not now, I think, the air is cooling off and I

want to linger out here a few minutes more

before I go inside and let the day overrun me with

whatever I planned and what can’t be predicted.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

