jump to navigation

Resignation August 25, 2007

Posted by vsap in Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

The office door opened and there you stood.

Moratorium over and things needed to move

in a quick, decisive way, so businesslike.

I can accept the orders and execute the plans.

I can sympathize with your plight and anger.

I can even be sure the plants in the hall live

but I can’t take the mood swings, abuse

to my mind and career so I resign.

Don’t look shocked for my benefit, I’m

the one relieved and free of your magnetic

North even now, even with two weeks left.

So, we can get to this meeting then we can

get to picking up the pieces of your team,

you know, the one where there is no “I”

but there is an “m” and an “e”, Deion.

No, I’m not about to turn mean and get

punted out the door this moment but I have

no fear of retribution like I did a few hours

ago, like I have for the past five years.

So, when you say after I’m gone that I wasn’t

all that important anyway and it was all for

the best, well, you know, you will be right

and, for once, I will agree without reservation.

Here’s my resignation.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

