jump to navigation

Over 40 League Misadventure August 14, 2007

Posted by vsap in Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

It was like a potato chip, that crunching sound,

except it was my knee and I can’t explain it away.

Getting old, it’s catching up with you, they say,

no more park district basketball, no low post,

but I don’t think I’ll miss it much anyway.

Being a little overweight likely hurt my chances

when the maneuver was quick left to right and

everything but the knee did what the brain asked,

it was just too much to ask at that moment.

So, it’s the emergency room and the waiting

area is filled with Spanish talk and cell phone yapping

and hip-hop music coming from the parking lot.

The big sliding doors open and close so often they

might as well stay open, let all the heat in along

with whoever else is sick or injured.

I’ll leave limping if they let me leave at all,

and I’ll be grateful for the story to tell and the

ability to say no or defer the next team sport

to the advice of my doctors.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

