jump to navigation

Lucinda August 6, 2007

Posted by vsap in Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

Showdown – another barroom scene

comes crashin’ down into my dreams.

I see this woman comin’ after me.

I feel the heartache she plans to leave.

Lucinda, you’re a hard-hearted woman

but you smile innocent like a child.

I’d like to run from your pleasure and pain

though you know I’ll love you just the same.

Midnight – bustin’ at the seams

I see the lights of a cop car after me.

You know a woman can treat you just so bad

til you wake up and know you’ve been had.

Oh Lucinda, you’re a hard-headed woman

but you smile innocent like a child.

All those good times had to end here

face down in my last glass of beer.

Another country song, February 1979 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

