jump to navigation

Tell me where it hurts July 28, 2007

Posted by vsap in Poetry, Uncategorized.
trackback

Tell me where it hurts

I can’t see your pain unless it’s written across your face

But I can feel it across the telephone line

In emails and in what our friends say about you

 Tell me where it hurts

I don’t have a doctor’s intuition or your case history

But I have these visions of you curled on the coach alone

In your room lit only by the flickering TV screen

 Tell me where it hurts

I won’t listen to your excuses or your aimless rambling

But I will listen to what’s in your heart tearing at your soul

In this very moment when you need it the most

 Tell me where it hurts

I couldn’t begin to pretend to guess

But I would run errands or bring you back home

In our hometown you will be hidden and safe

 Tell me where it hurts

I wouldn’t know how to fix things maybe

But I can be by your side and hold you

In the quiet hours between dark and dawn

 Tell me where it hurts

I can listen as you grapple with truth and lies

But I will hold my opinions and advice for later

In a time when talk is done and healing has begun

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

