jump to navigation

Ever-lengthening shadow July 8, 2007

Posted by vsap in Poetry.
trackback

You come in at mid-sentence,

And you leave long black scuffs

On my spotless white floor.

Don’t you have somewhere else to be?

To think I thought you were different.

Yes, more like me: drunk with prejudice

And never looking past the moment.

But I moved beyond where you are years ago

And I hope you discover that

Experience is not your enemy,

It’s your ever-lengthening shadow.

If I can’t help laughing

I can hope you empathize since

I learned it from you.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

