jump to navigation

Mighty storms hit and destroy May 13, 2007

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry.
trackback

Mighty storms hit and destroy.
They are indiscriminate,
They don’t check your credit rating,
They don’t care if you’re in a trailer park
Or enjoying an expensive dinner downtown.
Mighty storms hit and destroy.

I don’t see them sometimes,
Sometimes they are far away.
But I feel it, it’s that sinking, bad vibe:
Helplessness wrapped in fear surrounded by carnage.
Sometimes I don’t hear the wind
But I feel it as if it were pushing me.

Mighty storms hit and destroy
And they are unrelenting.
Like a wasp that doesn’t lose its stinger
It doesn’t die, just strikes all the more.
All you can do is pray, hunkered down
Protecting what you can and praying for the rest.

Mighty storms hit and destroy.
I don’t know why, they just do.
I can sit and contemplate it all I want
And nothing changes the facts.
Nothing I can think or say changes the weather.
I know I’m the biggest victim just when I feel indestructible.

July 21, 2006 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

