jump to navigation

IT ain’t there March 29, 2007

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry.
trackback

I am a suburban boy
Surviving the baby boom
Scribbling
And critics tell me
It ain’t there
Whatever IT is
And they don’t say it at all
It’s spoken in silence

I didn’t crash like celebrities
On Entertainment Tonight
But I escaped my youth
Suffered adultery, divorce,
Then more adultery,
my son’s cancer
When he was two
But IT ain’t there

Quit smoking after a year
When I was fifteen
Never used pot or dope
Rarely hard liquor
Killed some brain cells with beer
And myself nearly twice
Still, it ain’t there
Whatever IT is

I work
I stay home
I see some TV
I go out
I cried at my daughter’s wedding
And nobody knew
Nobody should
But IT ain’t there

I wrote couplets
I wrote rhymes and lyrics
I write free verse
For nearly thirty years
What I achieved was
Rejection letters I don’t remember
All the same, anyway,
Still, IT ain’t there

March 11, 2006

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

