jump to navigation

Potent cocktail March 27, 2007

Posted by vsap in Blogroll, Poetry.
trackback

Summer 2004

I was confused and I walked away.
What was said had overtaken me and
the images I created were beyond any I had seen before.
It was a potent cocktail of Jules Verne and Charles Dickens.

I think I slept, but I can’t be sure.
Both rested and exhausted as my eyes try to focus.
There were no dreams unless the void itself was my dream.
Visions and prophecy are not my stock in trade.

As if I am piloting a Harrier, commanding vertical and horizontal flight,
I am off the ground quickly and move across and away but not too fast.
It’s all slo-mo, like a Hollywood stunt slipped in an envelope
and mailed via pre-Internet Pony Express where the power lay with the beast and not the message.

I don’t claim to be the letter box or the deliverer.
I hear and see but only from one side and only faintly, dimly, darkly.
There isn’t proper light and the time is too short to contemplate
what is good or evil, I simply must choose.

Pride and greed are ugly step-sisters and I have been seen with both,
and often, in public unashamed.
While you may not recognize them immediately
you know them as well as I know them, and maybe better.

So I busied myself Monday evening looking for a gainful past time
without spending money and without tolerating fools.
I discovered I was frightfully unsuccessful and snatched just clean
from the demons who have pursued me recently.

Waving a kiss like I was bidding adieu to the Queen Mother,
I brought my hand back to my side and the tears began to roll
and the saltiness burned my eyes but the pain was welcomed.
I was beginning to see the Promise like I never had before.

Now my eyes and my head are clear and I stand firm.
What was said had overtaken me and
the images I created were beyond any I had seen before.
It was a potent cocktail of Jules Verne and Charles Dickens.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

